Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day: Book Review

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day book cover

Book: Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

Publisher/Year: Atheneum Books for Young Readers/1972

Genre: Children’s

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ – Outstanding

Who’s going to be in the movie?
Jennifer Garner (Alias, Daredevil — which doesn’t suck as much as everyone thinks it does, okay? and Dallas Buyer’s Club)
Steve Carrell (The OfficeThe 40-Year-Old Virgin)
Bella Thorne (Shake It Up!)
Dick Van Dyke (The Dick Van Dyke ShowMary Poppins)

When can I watch it?
The movie comes out October 10, 2014!

What’s it about?
A terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. Poor Alexander wakes up with gum in his hair and his day just continues to get worse as the day goes on.

What did you think?
This is one of my favorite books from my childhood. Probably because I related to Alexander; we’re both able to just go on rants and just wish we were in Australia.

I have no idea how the movie will be, other movies that have come out based on childhood classics like Where the Wild Things Are and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs were not very well received by those who cherished the books as children. Which makes sense; the books take 10 minutes read and are made into hour and half long movies, so there’s a going to be a lot of changes and additions. Even though my initial reaction to the movie was excitement, I’ve since had more concerns. Despite my love for Jennifer Garner (whose face is like sunshine) and Steve Carrell (who is hilarious in pretty much everything), I will be going to see the movie with low expectations. But I will definitely be going to see it.

Should I read it?
If you haven’t already then I’m sorry for your childhood. But you can buy a copy on Amazon or Thriftbooks. You can also watch a video of a random girl in a bookstore reading Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day to you. Either way it takes 5 minutes or less so just read it and thank me later.

What do you think?

